SOME HALLOWEEN/ REAL GHOST STORIES

A Ghost Story

by Kathryn Meyer Griffith

Because most of us are terrified of dying and death, of losing all we know so well in this mortal plane, we want to know: is there life after death? Do ghosts walk the earth? Vengeful or benevolent spirits? Immortals such as vampires and werewolves? Does good always win against evil? As human beings we’d love the answers to these questions and if we can’t find them, prove them, well, then we’ll invent, create, worlds where we can.

Now I must say that I can’t be considered a true skeptic when it comes to the supernatural because at the tender age of sixteen I saw a ghost, or what I believed was a ghost. My great Aunt Mary had died two days before. Not unexpectedly. She was old, had been in a nursing home for months, and we knew it was coming. Before the nursing home, though, she’d lived ten years with my maternal grandmother, whose name was also Mary, and had been happy there. The night before the funeral I’d been sleeping in my bed and something – to this day I don’t know what it was – woke me and I wandered down the dim hallway to use the bathroom.

And there was my dead Great Aunt Mary standing at the end of the hall in an eerie pulsating ball of light. She looked so real, as if I could reach out and touch her and my fingers would feel flesh. She was gesturing excitedly to me and rattling off a string of words that had to be German because I couldn’t understand a word of it. The old woman had been an immigrant who’d never learned our language, which is one of the reasons she’d been so content living with my grandmother; they’d both spoken German. The only word I could understand was Mary as she kept repeating the word over and over. I assumed my aunt was calling for my grandmother, as if my aunt were lost, and looking for her favorite niece. It’s the only explanation I have for the visitation.

Why she appeared to me, I’ll never know, but she did. I remember thinking: It’s Aunt Mary. Oh my God! But she’s dead. Dead. When it finally hit me, I was so frightened I turned and scurried back to my bedroom and dived beneath my bed covers. To this day, my mind swears I didn’t see what I thought I saw…Aunt Mary’s spirit…but my heart and my senses chide me and say, yes, you did. You saw a ghost. A real ghost. So there.

Since that day I’ve never been able to laugh at the possibility of the paranormal existing. The thing is, because I consider myself a down-to-earth realistic person (even though I’m considered basically a horror writer even with the other genres I write) , if someone asks me if I believe in ghosts and such I often as not hesitate before I admit that I might have seen one. Might. No one wants to be thought of as unbalanced. Seeing spirits is only one step above seeing little green men or pink elephants.

I want to be taken seriously. I mean, I’m a writer, not a nutcase.

All toll I’ve been a writer of paranormal fiction for forty years and proud of it. I’ve written about spirits, benevolent and malevolent; ghosts; angels; demons and all manner of vampires and unexplained creatures; and even, once, a possessed gun, and a woods haunted by an entity that was an eternal killer. Can’t get more spooky than that, can you?

Happy Halloween!

A Halloween Story

By author Kathryn Meyer Griffith

Since I was a child Halloween has always been one of my favorite holidays. No one loved horror movies or scary stories more than I did. As a poor child in a family of six other siblings I haunted the musty smelling libraries searching out books about ghosts, vampires, spooky houses and witches. I was addicted to supernatural or monster movies. Dracula. The Lady in White. Ghost Story. The Werewolf. Godzilla. The Mummy. Or any film that dealt with the supernatural in any way, shape, or form. My heart would beat hard whenever I opened a new book about a demon or a monster in a lake or when the lights would fade down in a theater and I knew the coming movie was a thriller.

Well, why and how did I become such a lover of Halloween? I’ll tell you.

My grandmother, Mary Fehrt, had been an immigrant from 1930’s war-torn Austria and was a born storyteller. And she loved scary stories. I first remember hearing a ghost story from her lips when I was barely six years old. One of the most disturbing, I recall, was about a rich little girl in her old country who’d died young, had been buried – and in those days, my grandmother had whispered in the candle’s flickering glow in her spooky basement where my siblings and I had gathered, bodies weren’t embalmed – but because some money-desperate peasant dug her up and cut her finger off for her diamond ring she sat up in her coffin, still alive. It scared the peasant nearly witless and, screaming, he’d scurried off. “Sleeping sickness, that’s what it’d been,” my grandmother had muttered. “The child hadn’t been dead at all but had been buried…alive.” Ugh! Funny how some details of those stories eventually found their way years later into mine. Or, once, my grandmother told us the story about her mother who saw her dead husband out in the garden after he’d died, walking around between the tomatoes, and waving at her…who then dematerialized in front of her eyes into a puff of smoke. Yikes. Let me tell you those eerie stories left their mark. They dried my mouth and made me shiver. Probably why I became a horror writer. I wanted to make people shiver in the same way.

Oh, yes, my grandmother adored Halloween.  She’d decorate her home like a haunted house, filling it with puff-paper pumpkins, cats, skeletons, and tacking up paper witches everywhere.  Cloth ghosts hung from the tree limbs in her front yard and when the wind blew they’d wave like tattered white banners. She’d hobble up to our door on Halloween night dressed as a witch and dare us to guess who it was. We always did, though, because her childish glee and familiar eyes, her mischievous smile would always give her away. Besides, her witch laugh sounded like her regular laugh, only scarier. The neighborhood kids loved going to her house because she always gave them special homemade treats; not only prepackaged candy so prevalent now days. She made the best chocolate chip cookies, caramel apples, and popcorn balls in town.

So, no wonder, I grew up loving Halloween.    

When that dark night rolls around every year I still get excited. These days, because very few treat-or-treaters find their way along our street (don’t know why…perhaps because the older people around us don’t turn on their lights and open their homes…afraid of being robbed); after we leave a bowl of candy on the front porch  just in case someone would come by, my husband and I walk hand in hand to our small town’s City Hall where they have a town get-to-together  with a pumpkin decorating contest for the kids, free hot-dogs, hot cider or hot cocoa with tiny marshmallows,  and lots of little dressed-up goblins for us to exclaim over. A safe Halloween. Then we go home and watch scary movies the rest of the night and eat the candy still left in the bowl. I like the Paydays and Milky Ways.

It’s a far cry from my 1950’s childhood where my six siblings and I would dress in spooky homemade costumes, sheet ghosts with cut-out eyes or gypsies dripping with mom’s jewelry, and clutching our brown grocery bags, would trudge from one porch lit and decorated house to another gathering those large (not those measly ones they give out now) candy bars or homemade treats. I can still hear the laughter and leaves whispering on the chilly autumn air as we gathered our treats. As I remember, most of those nights had been rainy, dark, and chilly. But that never stopped us candy monsters. We always went out and came home with a huge bag of goodies…which our mother would promptly take away from us and ration out sparingly over the next few weeks. So we wouldn’t get sick. Yeah, sure. I always suspected my parents pillaged from our bags themselves and stole our treats. Never could prove that, though.


9 thoughts on “SOME HALLOWEEN/ REAL GHOST STORIES

    1. CK…did you read the 9th one: Waiting Beyond the Veil ? If you did (and I hope you always leave honest reviews on each one for me…I would so appreciate it!) then it will be a while until I write #10. I am writing Dinosaur Lake VIII: For Love of Oscar right now. I do have 2 other cozy murder mysteries (of my 36 novels) Winter’s Journey and The Ice Bridge…have you read them? BUT I will eventually be writing another Spookie Town Murder Mystery when I am done with this 8th Dinosaur Lake book. Thank you, you made my day! Warmly, Kathryn Meyer Griffith

  1. Your work: The Last Vampire seems to have been plagiarized in whole or part as: THE REVENANT LYCANTHROPE and offered for sale on Amazon and other online booksellers by a person going by the name of Paul Weightman.

    My own work was also plagiarized by this individual and so I have taken the liberty of researching his “catalogue” and compiling as many of the rightful authors and titles as I could find for this notification. To date I have discovered and contacted over 35 authors, but Weightman has over 150 stolen titles.

    Brian P. Easton
    Please find his FB information below.
    https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=61552780596397
    https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100094903835282

    These are the only contacts I have been able to find for him, though he seems to own a cleaning service: https://www.yell.com/biz/p-w-cleaning-and-janitorial-services-york-10046658/

    1. Brian,
      Thank you! Yikes!!! This is (as well as I know) the first time I’ve been plagiarized.! I have been writing now for over 51 years with 36 novels & 13 short stories published since 1984…I’m one of the old ones. I went to THE REVENANT LYCANTHROPE and read the SAMPLE. It is mostly my book THE LAST VAMPIRE (published in 1994) but Weightman made my main character a male, not a female as I did. But yes, it is basically my book with changes he has just dropped in. And he set it in Scotland instead of the US. I am almost flattered…but not worried. There were SO MANY MISTAKES and misspellings (main character’s name kept changing, and once and a while Weightman would say ‘she’ instead of ‘he’…and there are NO reviews at all). It is a MESS (or the SAMPLE at least was). I am not worried. Even if I wanted to call this guy on stealing maybe 85-90% of my THE LAST VAMPIRE…how/what could I do? I live on my book money now in retirement and do not have any extra for a lawyer. And Amazon, as I’ve learned over the years, doesn’t care. So…have you done anything about Weightman???? What can we do?

      1. What I am doing is just this – researching and contacting authors he’s ripped off. But before that I contacted my publishers, and they filed a DMCA claim against him which resulted in most of his stolen works on Lulu.com being shut down. Make no mistake, we have been robbed whether he ever makes a dime or not. I feel it is incumbent upon me to warn others – what they do with the information is their own business. I wish you well. BPE

      2. What does a DMCA stand for? Does it cost to level one on another ‘author’? I am now self-published (I took all my rights back from all my old publishers and self-published all my books in 2012…I make a heck of a lot more money now. The publishers took way too much from my royalties. You would have more power because the DMCA was filed by a publisher. Did Weightman take your plagiarized books down? Keep me updated, ok? Warmly, Kathryn Meyer Griffith rdgriff@htc.net

      3. He copied mine through lulu.com who took all of his books down when the DMCA was filed (that were published there) except one. Your best bet is to find out who he published through and let them know. At the very least, file a copyright claim in the amazon page against him. There’s a place about halfway down the page where that is an option.

      4. Brian,
        you said: file a copyright claim in the amazon page against him. There’s a place about halfway down the page where that is an option. On what page? I looked on The Last Vampire Amazon sales page and then I looked on his THE REVENANT LYCANTHROPE page…I don’t see anywhere where I can file a copyright claim against him. I did go to his Facebook page, and as you and others have done, left a comment for him. What makes a person steal other people’s novels like this? Thanks for your help…Kathryn Meyer Griffith

      5. In this case the link is under IMPORTANT INFORMATION nearer the bottom of his bogus page. It says: “To report an issue with this product, click here.” Click and follow the prompts.

Leave a comment